Android OS Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Android Beginner
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to making Roms apart from some small stuff with the D1 using a guide. I wanted to learn how to make an AOSP based rom the tbolt but I don't know what proprietary files I need for it. I know that usually when doing a project like this you use an extract-files.sh script but idk where they come from. Are they dev made or do manufacturers tell you what files you need somewhere/somehow? I'm a noob at this so any pointers would be really appreciated

·
teh Jax
2,677 Posts
Right now, this isn't really an option unless you want to take up a MAJOR project. However, the good folks on the CM7 team have what you need and it will become open source before too awefully long. Ultimately, it's a custom RIL that talks to our Froyo-based radios (NOT the GB and MR2 radios yet). Once this RIL is opened up, then you'll be able to pursue such an undertaking.

In the mean time, perhaps you could/should start building out your ROM as a modded version of CM7? (be sure to give lots of credit to the CM7 team)

·
Android Beginner
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am interested in how it works, in addition to simply getting it to work. Are you saying that building from AOSP would require a lot of guesswork to figure out the necessary files?

·
teh Jax
2,677 Posts