Android OS Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Android Apprentice
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I got thru all the steps to root and install CM7 on my DX. But now my phone is stuck looping the CM& logo animation! This is my first time rooting and I've no idea how to fix this. Any help would be hugely appreciated.

·
Sourcerizer
819 Posts
choonami said:
So I got thru all the steps to root and install CM7 on my DX. But now my phone is stuck looping the CM& logo animation! This is my first time rooting and I've no idea how to fix this. Any help would be hugely appreciated.
My first suggestion would be boot into standard recovery and wipe data
-turn phone off
-hold home button while pressing power
-once it starts up, you can release power
-You'll see an android guy with an exclamation mark
-Press both volume keys at the same time
-use volume keys to move cursor and select "wipe data/cache factory reset" (can't remember exact wording)
-press the power button to select that choice
-you'll be presented with a list of no's with one yes. use volume keys to select yes, then use power button to confirm
-let it do it's thing, then you'll be back at the first menu
-select restart phone, and use power button to confirm

If that doesn't work, you'll have to sbf back to froyo, root with z4root, install droid 2 bootstrap, and try installing cm7 again.

good luck.

PS. If you do have to sbf and start again, make sure you follow the install steps for cm7 step by step, it's easy to forget to format something, or forget to mount system...

·
Android Apprentice
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Okay new issues; CM7 is running! But now the market isn't working and the gmail app is missing. I ran the gapp zip file to no avail. Any thoughts?

·
Sourcerizer
819 Posts
choonami said:
Okay new issues; CM7 is running! But now the market isn't working and the gmail app is missing. I ran the gapp zip file to no avail. Any thoughts?