Android OS Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Android Beginner
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! All :android-smile:
I am new to the forum as a registered person though I have been doing alot of reading (here) over the last few days. I am also new to sbfing and rooting.

I rooted my stock droid x sys ver 4.5.602 and all went well (I think). At least I had the Superuser icon in app drawer and (using Root Explorer) I was able to get into files that were once locked. I used Pete's Motorola Root tools. I also DL Rom Manager(free) from the Market and that is where I messed up. I clicked on "Fix Permissions" because I was getting some force close notifications. Thought it would take me to a "selection" box. Instead, it appeared to "Fix" nearly all files/folders to "read only". I spent several hours googling on how to fix the "fix" (reverse it)...no luck.

I tried to unroot via RDSLite 5.4.4 but it failed. I wrote error message down...but can't find my note!
So I took the .605 OTA update hoping that would help...it didn't (sort of). I had the same "read only" problem BUT I WAS "NOT ROOT" anymore.

Then I decided to SBF (my first) back to .602 using 602.sbf (originally a zip file). I then attemtped to root using the same files I used when I rooted for the first time. It failed. This is where I know I need help (and advise on anything I did wrong above). The error message I got from RSDLite 5.4.4: " We have root but couldn't push su. Try un-rooting then re-rooting". I did :erm (1): and keep getting the same error message.

Any help will be much appreciated :android-smile:

·
Supporting Member
229 Posts