Android OS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Android Beginner
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The PC I plugged my phone into to root it had a crazy MBR rootkit. (Thanks Dad)

I figured it wouldn't affect my phone because a PC virus can't infect an Android/ Linux device, right?

I installed voodoo, and the stable version of Gummy figuring I had to go out of town, so go with the stable option ... on the unstable computer.

Apparently this virus plants a linux kernel, or something, in the PC's MBR, hides partitions, puts tons of hooks into system files, and hidden directories... I think it was capable of infecting my phone.

The reasons for this: I've seen this virus grab flash drive mbr's. I still figured my phone would be impervious. I'm a rooting newb, but fought through all the crazy steps, and bricked my phone 6 times... figured out how to fix it. I was so glad to get it rooted, I felt triumphant. I don't know Linux, but with the debloated, voodoo gummy rom people were getting 1500 quadrant scores. Mine is grabbing 985. SuperUser starts bugging out. Titanium Backup Pro crashes on boot. Sad to say, even with something seriously bogging it down, that 985 is faster than stock.

So how do I get rid of this thing without permanently ruining my phone? Formatted the SD through the settings, but there's still a small amount missing. Could be in the phone? Any special people experienced in this?

How do I nuke this entire thing, and start over? I'm afraid to hook it up to a clean PC. Dropbox? Should I boot a PC with a boot disk, and try to hook it up? New to rooting, and good on PC's, but this is double over my head b/c Linux masters mystify me. People used to ***** about Dos.

Bless anyone who helps. Took me days to get this BS off a few PC's. Now it's in my phone? I'm helpless.

·
Android Slave
152 Posts