Android OS Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi:

First I wanted to say "Thank You!" I've been running the ICS alpha 9, updating via nightlies a few times each week, on my HP Touchpad and so appreciate the work of everyone who made/makes this port possible.

One question, though: I've been using iOS for 4 years and am really frustrated at Android's seeming inability to discriminate a scroll from a select with my finger motions. I wasn't sure if this was a bug, my install, the hardware, or simply endemic to ICS/Android.

For example, I often try to scroll down a page in Twitter, Facebook, or Chrome and wind up selecting page links instead of moving down a page as intended. Oftentimes it's impossible to move down the page without selecting something unless I very carefully grab a blank spot and fling it hard, but then I wind up overshooting my scroll target.

Another issue is discrimination of link selections--I've found that I often cannot choose a target, such as the close X on a Chrome tab; it either won't register any tapping or will instead choose an adjacent target. Sometimes rebooting fixes this, but it's a daily problem.

Is there a sensitivity setting somewhere or an app I can download to adjust this?

The difference compared to iOS is astounding--I'm using a 2009 iPhone 3gs and it handles selection of very closely spaced links perfectly and I almost never have problems scrolling vs. selecting.

Thanks in advance!

·
Thread Cruiser
205 Posts
I don't have this issue on my phone. It could be something with the touchscreen driver. It is still being actively developed. Check out this thread and try one of the older variants. It may work better for you.

·
Registered
4,922 Posts
Hi:

First I wanted to say "Thank You!" I've been running the ICS alpha 9, updating via nightlies a few times each week, on my HP Touchpad and so appreciate the work of everyone who made/makes this port possible.