Android OS Forum banner

[ROM]Jellybean Developer Preview from Google I/O, Altered to Function on the VZW Galaxy Nexus

135K views 488 replies 162 participants last post by  ronnieruff 
Sorry in advance, but I am really new to customizing. I have a Galaxy Nexus with 4.0.4 flashed. I am rooted and my bootloader is unlocked. I am curious about this update, is it as simple as putting the file on my CD card, booting into CWR and installing the zip? The only reason I ask is I really depend on my phone and am reluctant in the event I really screw something up.

I have CWR touch installed and Titanium Back up pro. Can someone confirm my steps.

Take a full back up with Titanium Back Up
Drop the file on my SD card
Boot into recovery
Do a full wipe
Install zip and reboot.

Do I need to install google apps? (Coming from a DX on CM7, only experience with ROMs) Is it a good idea to have a factory image on my SD card in the event something goes wrong I will have a back up?

Thanks in advance.

Hi mharmon,

The steps I used were:

1. Titanium backup - backup app data.

2. OPTIONAL:
Titanium Backup menu - create update.zip (as a system file).

3. Reboot into recovery and make backup of your current system ( will make complete backup of your phone just in case you want to return to what you had).

4. Reboot into recovery again and wipe data cache, then wipe partition cache, then go to advanced and wipe dalvik cache.
5. Then go back to the root menu and select "install from zip > choose zip to install > navigate to where you installed jelly bean and select it and install.

Reboot

OPTIONAL if you made the update.zip:
5. Go back to main menu and select " mount" and choose "Mount/System". Then navigate to "install from zip again" go to where you saved the update.zip for Titanium backup and install.