Android OS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 121 Posts

·
Registered
138 Posts
Hi everyone!

So i'm brand new to rooting, like...brand new. I just got a razr HD and am loving it so far, but I would like to get on board with a custom ROM. i've read through plenty of tutorials and whatnot, but am still pretty shaky on a lot of things. if you all don't mind...can i ask a few questions? and they will ultimately relate to this thread.

1. to do all of this (install safestrap and this ROM) do i need to root my phone?
2. If so, is there a way to root this guy via mac yet? seems like the only thing i've found is for a PC root.
3. does going through with this in any way affect me getting OTA updates? as in, when verizon finally ships out this jelly bean update, will i get it?

I have a lot more questions but i'll leave it here. Thanks so much for any help guys! and i'm excited to get this started!

·
Registered
138 Posts
You can use Matt's utility to do root from mac here is the link http://www.droidrzr....y-100-linuxmac/ I am pretty sure you need root as when installing Safestrap it asks for superuser access.
thanks! now then, just so i have this outlined in my head. i root the phone. then i install safestrap. then i make a virtual ROM partition. then i flash jake's .zip rom to that partition. presto?

·
Registered
138 Posts
hi everyone so i flashed the rom and gapps, and everything said successful....

but now its booting up and it just went black. and is staying black. i'm assuming this isn't normal?

thanks so much for your guys' help!

·
Registered
138 Posts
wait wait! i got it to boot into safestrap recovery. vitreous is still flashed into rom slot 1. but now i'm afraid to reboot.

EDIT:

i just went through and read this thread again. it seems like some people are saying that i can't do this from stock ICS? i need to download the JB leak first?

·
Registered
138 Posts
Download this http://db.tt/NIp5A5Ax
Make sure rom slot 1 is active then flash the fix