Android OS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Android Apprentice
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was hoping we could get a tasker thread going here; or at least maybe somebody could help me with a profile i'm trying to create. I know there's got to be some tasker pros here, and I'm a complete noob with this app.

I'm trying to set up a profile where if the screen is off and the keyboard opens, the screen will continue to stay off unless I hit the power button.

This option is built in to Chevy's roms but I'd like to be able to do it with tasker when running other roms.

Thanks to anybody that can assist.

·
Android Beginner
8 Posts
Hey I'm thinking that will be a pretty advanced Tasker profile. So far I've created only a couple of tasker profiles. I have one set up where when I plug in my headphones it gives me the choice of launching Pandora or QIK, then depending on my selection it starts up the app. I also have one set up where when I launch RunKeeper it automatically turns on GPS so I don't have to manually do that.

·
Android Apprentice
819 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yeah, I have very very simple profiles right now. I haven't really thought of a lot of tasks to set up, but this one I'm trying to get going is too much for me to wrap my head around.

·
Android Apprentice
51 Posts
I'm not sure I follow your need. Screen is off. Keyboard is opened. Screen stays off... then how does the keyboard open? Ohh... your device has a physical keyboard maybe? That would be a good one. I would think you need to first determine what... wow that might be a tough. I just did a quick seudo profile and it seemed like there will be a lot of conditions to figure out. You can't just turn off the screen when the keyboard is out otherwise every time you try and type you have to turn the screen back on. And you'd want to do it so you weren't constantly in a profile just to check that. Hmm..