Android OS Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Android Beginner
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Running a rooted charge, and my major issue is that I have unlimited data and I can still be charged for using extra. I dont use the tether often at all, just have some mixed feelings and issues with this, and the lack of 4G in my area, any thoughts?

·
Themer
332 Posts
im with you there, being grandfathered in for UNlimited doesnt that mean i can use as much data as i want on this phone line be it whoever and whatever uses that connection? w/e

G

·
I was always under the impression that unlimited data means data sent and received on my phone by any programs on the device, especially since they offered a tethering plan when I got my Droid X. I got the unlimited data plan, of course, but I turned down the tethering plan since I knew better. ;) I'm not condoning the unauthorized use of a data plan in any shape or form, but it's just so easy to do it while also preventing the carrier from knowing that you're doing it. Heck, my sales rep at Verizon even told me that I could find ways to tether for free with a little searching on the net, but she wasn't at liberty to tell me how. The ironic thing is I noticed PDAnet on her Droid X while she let me mess with it.

·
Android Lover
194 Posts
What are some of these ways to keep tethering a secret. I was under the impression that the DO know when you tether legally or illegally?

·
Supporting Member
127 Posts
"jeffykins said:
What are some of these ways to keep tethering a secret. I was under the impression that the DO know when you tether legally or illegally?
Afaik there is no way. I have heard they have algorithms that monitor how the data is used, and its 'pretty obvious' when someone's tethering.

G

·
mcmillanje said:
Afaik there is no way. I have heard they have algorithms that monitor how the data is used, and its 'pretty obvious' when someone's tethering.