Android OS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Android Beginner
8 Posts
Ok all, this is my first post and I'm brand new to this Linux thing, so here I go.

I just got the Touchpad and I like it. But I NEED it to connect to a HD2 Wifi hotspot, only available as AdHoc, no Managed Wifi option.

According to this post in PreCentral here (http://www.webos-internals.org/wiki/Ad-Hoc_Networking) you should be able to make an ad-hoc wifi connection by doing so from the command line in a terminal shell. However, it says that it's not going to work for long, since the WiFi manager forces the device back into Managed mode periodically. In order to avoid this, you need to turn off the WiFi functionality through the webOS GUI. Then, bring the WiFi card up using: /usr/sbin/wifidriver -i

Since this little guide was originally written for the Pre and not the TP, I guess it's not surprising that there is no /usr/sbin/wifidriver command. Doing a little research leads me to using modprobe to bring up the driver and lsmod tells me the driver for the wifi is named ar6000. Reading the man pages about modprobe says that -i tells it to ignore install and remove commands from the modprobe.conf file on the TP. Seeing as this doesn't seem to be related to preventing Wifi Manager from reverting any wifi connections to Managed mode, I'm thinking I need another way of preventing this from happening. Any ideas on this regard would be much appreciated. But there's more..

Using Xecutah, XServer & XTerm with WebOS 3.0.2, I have found that I can use the iwconfig command to set up a wifi connection and that I can set a number of parameters like mode, essid, power etc, but key/enc and commit are two parameters that are not accepted. Every time I try to set them I get an error. So I have no way of setting a WEP key in either AdHoc or Managed mode. Any ideas on this problem would also be appreciated.