Android OS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 194 Posts

·
Registered
4,922 Posts
Hey Guys. I am one of those lucky folks who was able to rescue their Touchpad with the awesome TP Debrick v 004. Very excited about that. My question now is. does anyone know of a program or an app I can install to prevent this battery drainage again? I know CM 10 should help but if it is experimental I like waiting for a while till all the kinks are worked out because I am not that tech savvy. I would really appreciate any help you guys can give.
J.C. Sullins included a patch in his latest rom dated 12162013 that shuts down the TouchPad at 3%. There are also two apps on the Play Store, AutomateIt and Llama that are user configurable for any percent you want. You can also set up rules to warn you verbally when your TouchPad reaches a predetermined level, like 20%. I have AutomateIt set up on my TP running CM9 and it works like a charm. I had trouble setting it up on my CM10 TP, so I tried and was able to setup Llama on that one. It is amazing the variety of rules one can set up using these apps.

·
Registered
4,922 Posts
I'm pretty sure that shutting down *is* what causes the problem. My latest bricking (today) occurred when I unplugged the charger. The battery was at 100% but there must've been an ill-configured power app or similar that decided that without a charger that it should shut down. A message appeared for about 5s and then it goes black. The first time I got bricked (2 months ago), I did a shutdown on purpose via the power button. So if you ask me and a few others on this forum, always keep it turned on and charged. Until today I could always unplug it for a few days; just had to make sure I replugged in before battery got run down. A restart seems to always work for me fine but shutdown is big no-no. This is running CM9. Ugh. And I'm one of the group who gets the cookie error (now known as "open multi failed" error.) [email protected]#$%^&*( touchpad