Android OS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
187 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Preface: I'm a noob

I decided that I wanted to try building a ROM, but I've been having a lot of trouble with getting source code...

I'm running Ubuntu 11.10, and I followed this CyanogenMod guide exactly, but something's going wrong... I made a bin directory in my home folder, as well as the android/system, then made the repo with this:
Code:
curl [URL=https://dl-ssl.google.com/dl/googlesource/git-repo/repo]https://dl-ssl.google.com/dl/googlesource/git-repo/repo[/URL] > ~/bin/repo
which worked successfully, then ran this and then rebooted:
Code:
chmod a+x ~/bin/repo

I cd'ed into the android/system dir and ran this:
Code:
repo init -u [URL=git://github.com/CyanogenMod/android.git]git://github.com/CyanogenMod/android.git[/URL] -b gingerbread

I don't know if this did what it should have done, because I got this output "repo initialized in /home/patrick" instead of what I was expecting, which was something along these lines: "repo initialized in /home/patrick/android/system." I made sure that I my working directory was still right, and it was still android/system. I don't know if that was right or not, but I assumed it was since I had literally copied and pasted the lines from the wiki.

After that was all done, I typed
Code:
<br />
repo sync -j16<br />
It did a bunch of stuff that looked right, and took FOREVER to be done. Well, really I don't think it really ever finished. I let it go for a few hours but when I came back it was stuck like this.

I gave it some time to work, hoping it would start up again, but nothing happened so I closed the terminal.