Android OS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Average Android
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I've been using my HP laptop for a few years now and I decided that I wanted to breath some life into it by installing a Linux distro. Thing is, I have no idea what I'm doing. My only experience with Linux is my Droid X. I'd like to know which distro is the most user friendly and stable and how I would go about installing it.

·
Average Android
104 Posts
I agree with the other post. I've been running Ubuntu version 10-4 and Ubuntu has everything needed to get you going and it has a GUI (graphic user interface) so it has a windows feel.

·
Average Android
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys. I'm downloading it as I speak and I'm gonna run it from my flash drive before installing. If I end up liking it, I'll format windows so it doesn't take up space but is still available, then install Ubuntu.

·
The Incredible Kangaroo
703 Posts
"Rockaholic said:
Thanks guys. I'm downloading it as I speak and I'm gonna run it from my flash drive before installing. If I end up liking it, I'll format windows so it doesn't take up space but is still available, then install Ubuntu.
Whoa, slow down. You format windows, and it will not be available.

·
Average Android
104 Posts
Your best bet is put it on a disk, and ultimately install it alongside windows untilled you become more acquainted with it.

Sent from my inspire 4g using RootzWiki Forums

·
Android Beginner
1 Posts
I'd suggest Arch Linux, fire up elinks in tty2 and read the beginner guide while you install from tty1. It's pretty damn simple and you'll probably learn more than just firing up ubuntu, and arch has some of the most simple, beginner friendly documentation out there.

·
Average Android
120 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
"d0wngrade said:
Check out WuBi on the Ubuntu website. It let's you install Ubuntu along side Windows.