Android OS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up a 2012 Nexus 7 that I want to install in my car. Im thinking about rigging up something so I can remove it when needed but for the most part it will stay in the car. I've read up on the fixed install threads on here and see some people are using dcdc-usb converters which are a little pricey but seem like the sure fire way to go. I also see some people using 12v to 5v converters on amazon that are less than $10 and some using cigarette lighter usb adapters. I have no experience with dcdc converters so I dont know how hard they are to install. So can anyone chime in on what they are currently using that keeps the tablet charging while in use in the car? Links would be great but keep in mind I'm in the USA. Thanks!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Does anyone have an opinion on one of these? .......

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B005J4OTUO/ref=aw_ls__3?colid=339UNI2HEYVEE&coliid=I371F0VQQ2KZ1G

A reviewer says it keeps his Nexus charged while using gps.
Or how about this...

http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00A71CMDU/ref=aw_ls__5?colid=339UNI2HEYVEE&coliid=I2AA9G8P55LCNR

Since there is no usb plug I take it I would have to cut and splice a micro usb cable for this to work. I've never cut one open so I dont know if I just connect red and black wire to red and black or if theres more to it than that.?.?

·
Registered
290 Posts
DCDC-USB is the most popular / reliable option to charge the Nexus and power slave devices. I (and others) have tried cheap converters in the past, they never work out. The DCDC-USB is not the cheapest option, but it's reliable and a known solution. My Nexus remains at 100% unless I take it out of the car to use in the house for something.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·