Android OS Forum banner
101 - 118 of 118 Posts

·
Banned
Joined
·
2,166 Posts
Code:
<br />
System:    Host: bawz Kernel: 3.0.0-16-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: N/A Distro: Ubuntu 11.10 oneiric<br />
Machine:   Mobo: Gigabyte model: GA-MA785GM-US2H Bios: Award version: F12a date: 07/08/2010<br />
CPU:	   Quad core AMD Phenom II X4 965 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4a svm)<br />
		   Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 3400.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz<br />
Graphics:  Card: nVidia Device 0e23<br />
		   X.org: 1.10.4 drivers: nvidia (unloaded: nouveau,vesa,fbdev) tty size: 128x40 Advanced Data: N/A for root<br />
Audio:	 Card-1: ATI SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) driver: HDA Intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24<br />
		   Card-2: nVidia GF104 High Definition Audio Controller driver: HDA Intel<br />
Network:   Card: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169<br />
		   IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 6c:f0:49:7e:55:95<br />
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 4000.8GB (7.1% used) 1: /dev/sda ST32000542AS 2000.4GB<br />
		   2: /dev/sdb ST2000DL003 2000.4GB<br />
Partition: ID: / size: 1.8T used: 264G (16%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 12.00GB used: 0.20GB (2%) fs: swap<br />
Info:	  Processes: 194 Uptime: 10 days Memory: 1964.7/7998.2MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.30<br />
 

·
Android Apprentice
Joined
·
122 Posts
I'm having far too much fun with Arch 3.2.11-1.


After using it awhile I found that I hate Gnome3. So I kicked it to the curb and then drove over it a few times. Now I'm using Openbox with tint2. I use Thunar as my file manager and nitrogen to set my wallpaper. Bits and pieces of XFCE4, to keep it light, are used to deal with the behind the scenes settings like Power Management.

All that's left is to find a good application launcher. Playing around with dmenu right now and I think that may be all I need. We'll see though. :D
 

·
n00blet
Joined
·
142 Posts
I'm having far too much fun with Arch 3.2.11-1.


After using it awhile I found that I hate Gnome3. So I kicked it to the curb and then drove over it a few times. Now I'm using Openbox with tint2. I use Thunar as my file manager and nitrogen to set my wallpaper. Bits and pieces of XFCE4, to keep it light, are used to deal with the behind the scenes settings like Power Management.

All that's left is to find a good application launcher. Playing around with dmenu right now and I think that may be all I need. We'll see though. :D
Wait till you try out a tiler. :)
 

·
n00blet
Joined
·
142 Posts
Spectrwm is probably the easiest to start with. The config file is very user friendly. Its very small, simple to setup and it'll give you an idea on whether or not tiling is going to be a WM you'd enjoy. Don't get me wrong OpenBox is very nice but I just quickly grew tired of having to manually resize/move windows. If you chose to try it I still have all my spectrwm config files so if you need help just ask, :)

Some screen shots of it --> https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1066109#p1066109

I'd recommend also looking through that thread and see if anything else catches your eye.

I currently use Awesome which I feel is kind of a go between between Gnome and a tiler. It has dynamic tiling, a system tray, and allows for pop up notifications without looking to funny. It's coded in LUA so for me there was some learning to do to change things around.
 

·
Android Apprentice
Joined
·
122 Posts
Spectrwm is probably the easiest to start with. The config file is very user friendly. Its very small, simple to setup and it'll give you an idea on whether or not tiling is going to be a WM you'd enjoy. Don't get me wrong OpenBox is very nice but I just quickly grew tired of having to manually resize/move windows. If you chose to try it I still have all my spectrwm config files so if you need help just ask, :)

Some screen shots of it --> https://bbs.archlinu...066109#p1066109

I'd recommend also looking through that thread and see if anything else catches your eye.

I currently use Awesome which I feel is kind of a go between between Gnome and a tiler. It has dynamic tiling, a system tray, and allows for pop up notifications without looking to funny. It's coded in LUA so for me there was some learning to do to change things around.
Oh very nice. Nice screenshots too.

What gives you all the information on the top left? Everything you added via LUA or is that conky or something else?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
46 Posts
Mint 11, by far my favourite operating system. I just does everything I want/need it to, and also happens to work very nice with android.
 

·
? - ???
Joined
·
1,158 Posts
Older box and newer box.
Use the older selfbuild as a mediaserver/HTPC for the house.

Dell SXPS 9100
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Kernel: 3.3.5-1-ck
CPU: Intel Core i7 CPU 960 @ 3.20GHz
Ram: 11Mb / 12Gb
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 240 (GT215)
Resolution: 3600x1080
Audio: X-Fi Xtreme Audio
Shell: /bin/bash
Terminal: rxvt-256color
Editor: vim
Webcam:Logitech Webcam C310
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Performance MX
Window Manager: WMii
Harddisc: 650 GB 300 GB 300 GB 300 GB



Selfbuild box
Distro: Arch Linux x86_64
Kernel: 3.3.5-1-ck
CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 955 Processor
Ram: 3Mb / 4Gb
GPU: ATI Radeon HD 5750
Shell: /bin/bash
Terminal: rxvt-256color
Editor: vim
Window Manager: WMii
Harddisc: 200 GB 500 GB 1500 GB 1000 GB 1000 GB

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using RootzWiki
 

·
n00blet
Joined
·
142 Posts
Code:
<br />
<br />
System:	Host: buildbox Kernel: 3.0.1-030001-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Console: tty 0 Distro: Ubuntu 10.04 lucid<br />
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8P67 DELUXE version: Rev 1.xx Bios: American Megatrends version: 1502 date: 03/02/2011<br />
CPU:	   Quad core Intel Core i7-2600K CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx)<br />
		   Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 1600.00 MHz 3: 1600.00 MHz 4: 1600.00 MHz 5: 1600.00 MHz 6: 1600.00 MHz 7: 1600.00 MHz 8: 1600.00 MHz<br />
Graphics:  Card: nVidia Device 06c4 X.org: 1.7.6 driver: nvidia tty size: 119x37 Advanced Data: N/A out of X<br />
Audio:	 Card-1: Intel Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller driver: HDA Intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24<br />
		   Card-2: nVidia Device 0be5 driver: HDA Intel<br />
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169<br />
		   IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac:<br />
		   Card-2: Intel Device 1503 driver: e1000e<br />
		   IF: eth1 state: down mac:<br />
		   Card-3: Atheros<br />
		   IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A<br />
Drives:	HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (3.7% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: OCZ size: 120.0GB<br />
		   2: id: /dev/sdb model: Hitachi_HDT72101 size: 1000.2GB<br />
Partition: ID: / size: 106G used: 38G (38%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.92GB used: 0.09GB (2%) fs: swap<br />
Sensors:   Error: You do not have the sensors app installed.<br />
Info:	  Processes: 169 Uptime: 3 days Memory: 705.6/7978.5MB Runlevel: 2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.36<br />
New machine. 9 mins to build Android now. :)
 

·
Average Android
Joined
·
377 Posts
Code:
<br />
<br />
System:	Host: buildbox Kernel: 3.0.1-030001-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Console: tty 0 Distro: Ubuntu 10.04 lucid<br />
Machine:   Mobo: ASUSTeK model: P8P67 DELUXE version: Rev 1.xx Bios: American Megatrends version: 1502 date: 03/02/2011<br />
CPU:	   Quad core Intel Core i7-2600K CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx)<br />
		   Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 1600.00 MHz 3: 1600.00 MHz 4: 1600.00 MHz 5: 1600.00 MHz 6: 1600.00 MHz 7: 1600.00 MHz 8: 1600.00 MHz<br />
Graphics:  Card: nVidia Device 06c4 X.org: 1.7.6 driver: nvidia tty size: 119x37 Advanced Data: N/A out of X<br />
Audio:	 Card-1: Intel Cougar Point High Definition Audio Controller driver: HDA Intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.24<br />
		   Card-2: nVidia Device 0be5 driver: HDA Intel<br />
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169<br />
		   IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac:<br />
		   Card-2: Intel Device 1503 driver: e1000e<br />
		   IF: eth1 state: down mac:<br />
		   Card-3: Atheros<br />
		   IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A<br />
Drives:	HDD Total Size: 1120.2GB (3.7% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: OCZ size: 120.0GB<br />
		   2: id: /dev/sdb model: Hitachi_HDT72101 size: 1000.2GB<br />
Partition: ID: / size: 106G used: 38G (38%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.92GB used: 0.09GB (2%) fs: swap<br />
Sensors:   Error: You do not have the sensors app installed.<br />
Info:	  Processes: 169 Uptime: 3 days Memory: 705.6/7978.5MB Runlevel: 2 Client: Shell inxi: 1.7.36<br />
New machine. 9 mins to build Android now. :)
Maybe I missed it in there but how much Ram you running? Edit: looks like 8 gb

Werent you running Arch before? If so, why you switch over?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
28 Posts
Dell Studio 15

CPU: Core 2 Duo P8600 @ 2.4GHz
Grafix: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV710
HD : 120GB SSD
RAM : 4GB

OS: Fedora 17 64-bit
Shell: Cinnamon 1.4
 

·
n00blet
Joined
·
142 Posts
Maybe I missed it in there but how much Ram you running? Edit: looks like 8 gb

Werent you running Arch before? If so, why you switch over?
I still run Arch on my laptop(main machine) I run Ubuntu on my desktop and ssh in cause I am to damn lazy to walk upstairs. I did just buy a new laptop and am very pleased with it.

Code:
<br />
System:	Host: watson Kernel: 3.4.7-1-ck x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Awesome 3.4.13 Distro: Arch Linux<br />
Machine:   Mobo: SAMSUNG model: RC512 version: 06VQ<br />
		   Bios: American Megatrends version: 06VQ.M024.20110212.SSH date: 02/12/2011<br />
CPU:	   Quad core Intel Core i7-2630QM CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx)<br />
		   Clock Speeds: 1: 800.00 MHz 2: 800.00 MHz 3: 800.00 MHz 4: 800.00 MHz 5: 800.00 MHz 6: 800.00 MHz 7: 800.00 MHz 8: 800.00 MHz<br />
Graphics:  Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller<br />
		   X.Org: 1.12.3 driver: intel Resolution: [email protected]<br />
		   GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Mobile GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 8.0.4<br />
Audio:	 Card: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel<br />
		   Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.25<br />
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169<br />
		   IF: eth0 state: down mac: [URL=e8:11:32:25:4e]e8:11:32:25:4e[/URL]:78<br />
		   Card-2: Intel Centrino Advanced-N + WiMAX 6250 driver: iwlwifi<br />
		   IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 64:80:99:04:94:a4<br />
Drives:	HDD Total Size: 256.1GB (5.8% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: M4 size: 256.1GB<br />
Partition: ID: / size: 39G used: 3.9G (11%) fs: ext4 ID: /boot size: 504M used: 37M (8%) fs: ext2<br />
		   ID: /home size: 198G used: 10G (6%) fs: ext4<br />
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: 43.0C<br />
		   Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A<br />
Info:	  Processes: 138 Uptime: 16:24 Memory: 696.5/7902.0MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.14<br />
i7 with a 256 M4 SSD with 8gigs ram. :)

Pics here -> https://bbs.archlinu...141809#p1141809
 

·
Android Beginner
Joined
·
2 Posts
i7 2600k oc 4.2ghz (air)
8gb 1600mhz corsair ram
asus p8z68-vpro/gen3 board
evga gtx 570
1tb caviar black (windows)
64gb samsung ssd (cache drive for my 1tb)
128gb scorpio blue laptop drive (ubuntu)
27in asus monitor

ubuntu 12.04:
android sdk
java6
nothing else since i installed ubuntu last weeks and only use it for android stuff haha although with these specs i should probably start looking in to putting it to use doing some deving haha
 

·
The Jittery Gentleman
Joined
·
1,760 Posts
Desktop:
Asus frankenstein
3rd gen i7 @ 4.2
16 gigs of ram.
2 1tb Barracuda drives
Gt 520 nvidia card

Laptop:
Asus q400a
3rd gen i7 @ 2.2
8 gigs of ram
750 gig hard drive (whatever came with it)
 
101 - 118 of 118 Posts
Top