Android OS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Android Beginner
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Rooted my phone yesterday, tried to install a wireless tether app from the market neither of them work. the first one i tried was by Muller,Lemon,Buxton. when i first install it jus takes forever so i wait and i waited for like 10 mins. then i tried rebooting and doing it then still takes forever and nothin so go back and re try it without reboot or exiting the app i press it again and it say tethering started with errors please go to show log says setting channel failed, setting essid failed, setting ad-hoc mode failed, activating WIFI interface failed. Please anyone help i am new to this jus trying to figure it all out please and thank you

·
Android Beginner
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Exactly the one im talking about in this post lol but thanx anyways if any other good ones or any way to help fix this problem then i could use it tho got any ideas

·
Android Beginner
13 Posts
DrMacinyasha said:
How does it not work? Did you make sure to give it root permissions? What kernel are you running?
Yes I did and it comes on but won't let me connect I downloaded another version and when I try and connect to another phone it won't obtain my IP address

Kernal Version - 2.6.37.6-cyanogenmod-01493-g70877de [email protected] #1

·
Android Beginner
14 Posts
If you're using MIUI, 3rd party apps are known to break Wifi tethering for a lot of people. Use the native feature. Settings -> System -> Tethering & Portable Hotspot. Just turn it on and configure it.

·
Android Beginner
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
EndlessDissent said:
If you're using MIUI, 3rd party apps are known to break Wifi tethering for a lot of people. Use the native feature. Settings -> System -> Tethering & Portable Hotspot. Just turn it on and configure it.